We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Slowly Rushing

by Safire & QQQ Akane

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Deluxe gatefold limited edition heavyweight 12” Vinyl LP featuring cover art by Takashi Ito & Hiromi Ito.
    ***Please Note*** Delays on vinyl orders. Please be patient and we will be shipping the albums to you as soon as they arrive at our warehouse.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Slowly Rushing via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $30 AUD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 AUD  or more


Smoke Signal 03:45
Direxion 03:59
Campanella 05:08
Veil 03:19
I Wonder 03:40
ONE 04:36


Heavy Machinery Records is proud to present Slowly Rushing, the debut LP from Melbourne multidisciplinary duo Safire & QQQ Akane.

Safire and QQQ Akane are bound by creativity and community. They act as the glue connecting people, experience and art; leveraging their craft of audio and visual design to stew a melting pot of forward thinking cool sh!t.

Collaboration is key when identifying their artistic practice. They seem to have an organic knack of creating parties/raves, record labels and releases, technical masterclasses and inclusive artistic spaces that place emphasis on community.

As artists independently, they have hit their respective heights. Ben Safire has toured extensively throughout Europe and Asia, representing Australian Drum and Bass on a global scale. As a musician and event curator he has built the foundations of bass music in Melbourne, collaborating locally and internationally with Noisia, Alix Perez, Dub Phizix, Zed Bias and DLR, to name but a few.

To limit QQQ Akane as a visual artist would be an injustice. While she is well known for her creative collaboration with Metalheadz boss Goldie and visual art with record label Plasma Audio, QQQ Akane is an enigma of creativity that flows from fashion and dance to vocalism and music production.

Slowly Rushing is the debut long play from the seasoned duo. The album feels like the soundtrack to a warm night, sharing food on a big table with your friends and family. A dinner where the conversation is as filling as the meal. Before you know it, the table has disappeared and made room for a hazed-out dance floor, exploring non-verbal communication and telekinetic meditation.

Slowly Rushing broods warmth, taking notes from jazz, dub, hip-hop and bass music to hypnotically wrap around your consciousness like a snake to a snake charmer. QQQ Akane calls on her indigenous Amami roots of storytelling and musical styling, that simultaneously feels grounded whilst taking you further down the rabbit hole.

Safire and QQQ Akane have created their own world, a dinner party if you will, all they ask is you bring a plate and enjoy.


released August 27, 2021

Akane Ito: vocals
Ben Finocchiaro: production, programming, piano, keys, bass

Krown: rapping on 4
Aaron Choulai: keys on 8
Andy Bevan: Tenor Sax on 1, Alto Flute on 10
Matthew Robb: guitar on 7

Mixing and mastering by Ben Finocchiaro at Plasma Studio
Art direction and artwork by Takashi Ito & Hiromi Ito at QQQ Design
Graphic design by Luke Fraser at Grin Creative
Photography by Nicole Reed
Project coordination by Amber Arizono
Series curated and produced by Miles Brown

All tracks © Safire & QQQ Akane 2021



Co-released by Heavy Machinery Records and Chilla Holla


all rights reserved



Heavy Machinery Records Melbourne, Australia

New work for heavy instruments

contact / help

Contact Heavy Machinery Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Slowly Rushing, you may also like: